Settings for generator and scope

Have an idea? Post it here! - Looking for developers? Ask here as well!
Post Reply
Bulova
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 6:07 pm
Location: Babenhausen/Germany

Settings for generator and scope

Post by Bulova » Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:21 am

Hello,

it would be very helpful to have a possibility to set the scope and generator's parameters, because each time when I start RP again, I have to make the settings once more. This is inconvenient. To load a parameter set should be possible and the easiest way without changing the APPs that much.

Regards

Dieter

Etienne.Phillips@gmail.com
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Settings for generator and scope

Post by Etienne.Phillips@gmail.com » Tue Oct 27, 2015 7:55 pm

Ah, I guess I missed this post when I posted pretty much exactly the same question yesterday... I second this request - it would be really useful to save the scope setup, so on a RP or web app restart the scope returns to it's previous state.

Thanks
Etienne

markdalton
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 1:54 am

Re: Settings for generator and scope

Post by markdalton » Sun May 01, 2016 4:31 am

Would be good to get the controls changed to a dial set up. More like what people are used to with bench top scopes, which might even allow the plot area to be slightly larger as well.

jerzydziewierz
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 1:10 pm

Re: Settings for generator and scope

Post by jerzydziewierz » Mon May 02, 2016 9:24 am

I concur,

how about we simply make a desktop application in python, that would be way easier to operate for ad-hoc probing (not labview style where you make a specialized application)

In fact this is so obvious that someone had to do that before already,
maybe it's a matter of googling the internet deeply enough, and then adopting a tool that someone written for a different dev board? we cant be the first ones to do a IP-connected oscilloscope . . . .

jerzydziewierz
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2016 1:10 pm

Re: Settings for generator and scope

Post by jerzydziewierz » Mon May 02, 2016 9:34 am

from the top of the google list: (hand picked, pre-filtered from http://www.opencircuits.com/Oscilloscope)


plug-in architecture - https://github.com/xobs/osqoop

best screenshots: http://xoscope.sourceforge.net/

https://www.zeitnitz.eu/scope_en

it should also be possible to hack/patch the software of https://www.picotech.com/downloads to run with our board, as their SDK is available free.

the thinking is, that we would gain more by joining an pre-existing active development rather than starting from scratch . . . .


Still tough, I think that the core power of RP is the potential to make various high-speed-control-dependent instruments, and not merely as an oscilloscope. There is enough "simple oscilloscopes" out there already.

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests