FPGA Programming for RedPitaya

Applications, development tools, FPGA, C, WEB
8lu3

FPGA Programming for RedPitaya

Post by 8lu3 » Sat Jun 18, 2016 4:19 pm

Hi all,
I've got some basic questions about fpga-programming since I'm new to it:
  • I already learnt a bit Verilog, so I'm able to understand and write small Verilog programs. But, it seems to be a huge step from pure Verilog to FPGA-programming and there are a lot of things I don't really understand in the RedPitaya fpga project (what are all these ports, how do fpga and cpu communicate,..). So does anyone know a good Tutorial for me to start with?
  • How can one convert a generated Bitstream to a bin file in Vivado 2015.4 (the program "promgen" is missing)?
thanks and regards

Nils Roos

Re: FPGA Programming for RedPitaya

Post by Nils Roos » Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:11 pm

Xilinx has a lot of good tutorials, but I can't point you to anything specific. Look through the contents of DocNav, which you can install alongside Vivado. In the meantime, I can answer your questions and explain some basics - that might help you to pick avenues for further search.

All things you do in Verilog and in the block designs are assembled into circuits in the programmable logic (PL). In order for these circuits to do anything useful, they need interfaces with the device pins and/or on-chip peripherals. The latter include the ARM cores, DDR memory controller, UARTs, etc., and they are collectively called the processing system (PS).

"All these ports" in modules are the connections from one instance of a module to the code where the module is instantiated. The ports of the top module of a project (red_pitaya_top) are the interfaces where device pins can be assigned to. The assignment is done in the constraints (red_pitaya.xdc), where pins are connected to FPGA signals by way of the portname of the inputs/outputs of the top module.