C programming

Applications, development tools, FPGA, C, WEB
javat15

C programming

Post by javat15 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:07 am

Hi,

I'm a beginner in Red Pitaya and I'm trying to program the device using C. I compiled and executed the examples, but I want to make a project from scratch using the APIs. My question is how doing that in eclipses moon without use remote system?

Thanks in advanced

Nils Roos

Re: C programming

Post by Nils Roos » Tue Dec 20, 2016 2:57 am

You need
  • eclipse CDT
  • Vivado installed with SDK
  • /lib/librp.so and /include/redpitaya/rp.h from the ecosystem.zip
In eclipse, select "New -> C Project". First page: give it a name and choose "Executable -> Empty Project" with "Cross GCC". Second page: no changes. Third page: use prefix "arm-linux-gnueabihf-" and set the path to /opt/Xilinx/SDK/2016.2/gnu/aarch32/lin/gcc-arm-linux-gnueabi/bin . Open the properties of your new project and go to "C/C++ Build -> Settings". In the tab "Tool Settings", choose "Cross GCC Compiler -> Includes" and add the path to rp.h in "Include paths", then choose "Cross GCC Linker -> Libraries" and add "rp", "m", and "pthread" under "Libraries" and then add a "Library search path" to the librp.so.

Then you can start adding C-files to the project. To generate a program, you can simply use the "Build" button. Beware that running and debugging the executable can only be done on the Red Pitaya, so for these steps you need the remote setup.

javat15

Post by javat15 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:43 pm

Hi, I have tried several times but always appers these messages of error:

failed to merge target specific data of file /home/usr/Documentos/RedPitaya/Header/librp.so
librp.so uses VFP register arguments, test does not test

How can solve this problem?

Nils Roos

Post by Nils Roos » Sun Jan 08, 2017 10:59 pm

Where does this message appear and what were you trying to do at the time?

javat15

Post by javat15 » Sun Jan 08, 2017 11:18 pm