Many warnings for Synthesis and implementation of FPGA

Applications, development tools, FPGA, C, WEB
jmadsenee

Many warnings for Synthesis and implementation of FPGA

Post by jmadsenee » Thu May 21, 2015 4:08 pm

Hi All,

When running the Synthesis in Vivado for the original (straight from github) fpga project, I get 314 warnings. When running the Implementation I get 134 warnings and 1 critical warning. Is this normal? Have I done something wrong? I am new to fpgas and wanted to try generating a bitstream with the original code before trying to make changes...

Any help would be appreciated.

John

Nils Roos

Re: Many warnings for Synthesis and implementation of FPGA

Post by Nils Roos » Fri May 22, 2015 12:50 am

Hi John,

Warning messages in their hundreds are normal for the red_pitaya project. Actually they can be in their thousands, but Vivado out-of-the-box is configured to stop at 100 repetitions. A slight timing violation on a small number of signals is also normal, which I assume accounts for the critical warning. Go ahead and build the bitstream, convert it with promgen - unless you have the patched xdevcfg in use - and try it out.

jmadsenee

Post by jmadsenee » Mon May 25, 2015 2:40 am

Doesn't that bother anyone? Is that normal for all fpga projects?

pavel

Post by pavel » Mon May 25, 2015 8:10 am

Hi John,

Apparently, the timing problems bother the Red Pitaya developers. In the devel branch of the Red Pitaya repository, most of the timing problems are already fixed. So, hopefully, there won't be any timing problem in the next release.

When I've seen all these warnings for the fist time, it bothered me to the point that I stopped using the FPGA configuration from the Red Pitaya developers and spent some time learning how to use Xilinx Vivado in a more optimal way.