An open source GUI framework for RedPitaya based instruments

Applications, development tools, FPGA, C, WEB
yoelk

An open source GUI framework for RedPitaya based instruments

Post by yoelk » Wed May 27, 2015 12:01 pm

Hello,
My name is Joel Koenka, I'm a PhD student in the University of Basel.

I have a question to the guys at RedPitaya. I tried sending this through the "Contact" link but didn't get an answer.

In the past 2 years I've developed an open-source software framework (written in Python) to create GUI programs for custom-made instruments.
I called it Instrumentino, because I started working with Arduino boards to control my instruments, but I soon realized this doesn't have to be the case and I wrote it in such a way that multiple hardware controllers of different types can be used.
I've also published two scientific articles about it (https://github.com/yoelk/Instrumentino/ ... /documents).

I chose Python as the GUI programming language because of its inherent cross-platform nature but mostly because it's such an easy programming language, and Instrumentino users would be other PhD students and system developers which don't necessarily have a strong programming background. I've put a lot of thought into this and I also considered using HTML (for cross-platform support) but since it's much easier to program in Python, I'm convinced it's the best solution.

These days I'm preparing version 2 of Instrumentino, using Kivy as the graphical framework, and I aim to be able to run Instrumentino on PCs and mobile devices (phones, tablets) alike.
There are many other planned improvements for V2, which I believe will make it an outstanding free program for instrumental control.