Data acquisition and store using Red Pitaya with LabView

Discussions about active development projects
gerotero

Data acquisition and store using Red Pitaya with LabView

Post by gerotero » Wed May 11, 2016 11:49 am

Hello!

I am a master student and I am using the RP in my master thesis, but I am a beginner using it and I've found some problems.
I would like to get the signal from a photodiode which receives a laser beam in LabView and store the data acquired on my computer.
I am able to get the signal using the oscilloscope available in the web browser.
The next step that i've tried was to get the same signal in Labview, for that I've downloaded the driver for Labview available in the RP webpage and I run the Putty software (my computer runs with Windows 7) to start the SCPI server.

I am using the following VI in Labview in order to watch and store the signal:

First I initialize the RP and set the IP adress, after that I configure the adquisition, selecting between DEC and SRAT, and the value of the feature, following I adjust the gain voltage, to HV (I did the same in the RP changing the jumpers of the channel 1).
The next step is reading the waveform, the output data from this block is sent to the graph and stored in two different formats.
Finally I reset the adquisition and close the process.

The problems that I have found are:
- Until I start the oscilloscope in the web browser the RP doesn't send any data to the VI in LabView, and the image that I obtain in the graph is an straight line in 0, when I run the oscilloscope I am able to get the data in labview, however the RP webpage includes this note: Note: Communicating with scpi server and working with web based instruments at the same time can diminish the performance of your Red Pitaya. This is because the same resource is used for both tasks.