Basic compling with Ubuntu and Vivado

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
thomasliuchang

Basic compling with Ubuntu and Vivado

Post by thomasliuchang » Mon May 02, 2016 2:24 pm

Hello,

I am a beginner of RP. I want to further develop the fpga with Ubuntu and realize some specific function. I have install the latest Ubuntu system, Vivado WebPACK 2015.4 with Zynq®-7000 and SDK, and ARM toolchain, as noted in https://github.com/RedPitaya/RedPitaya/ ... plications. Also, I have install the gmake.

When trying the build process, the following problems occurred.

while executing
"generate_app -hw system_0 -os standalone -proc ps7_cortexa9_0 -app zynq_fsbl -compile -sw fsbl -dir $path_sdk/fsbl"
(file "red_pitaya_hsi_fsbl.tcl" line 11)
INFO: [Common 17-206] Exiting hsi at Mon May 2 14:42:52 2016...
Makefile:39: recipe for target 'sdk/fsbl/executable.elf' failed
make[1]: *** [sdk/fsbl/executable.elf] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/lic/RedPitaya/fpga'
Makefile:167: recipe for target 'fpga' failed
make: *** [fpga] Error 2

Could you please check above problems and give me some solutions? Furthermore, may I ask you to give me an example (LED blink etc.) about compiling with ubuntu and vivado 2015.4. I will really appreciate if the example is give step by step.

Heartfelt Thanks!

Best regards,
Chang

Nils Roos

Re: Basic compling with Ubuntu and Vivado

Post by Nils Roos » Tue May 03, 2016 9:28 pm

Hi,

did you source the 'settings.sh' script before calling 'make' ?

Code: Select all

. settings.sh

thomasliuchang

Post by thomasliuchang » Wed May 04, 2016 9:23 am

Hi Nils,

Yes, I have done that.

Chang

Nils Roos

Post by Nils Roos » Fri May 06, 2016 11:27 pm

I suspect that the real error happened earlier during FPGA synthesis. Did you acquire and install a valid license for Vivado? If not, the synthesis will abort but the build will continue without the generated components, which leads to errors in the later steps that depend on this output.