Problem: corrupted output signal on channel 2 in jupyter

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
Post Reply
Hinkestein
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:54 pm

Problem: corrupted output signal on channel 2 in jupyter

Post by Hinkestein » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:41 pm

I installed the new latest 0.98 stable image and tried the jupyter examples.

When I run examples/gen_sync_two_channel.ipynb I get a pretty spot on sine wave on channel 1, but a heavily distorted signal on channel 2.
(see attached screenshots from my scope)

I noticed by playing around with the phase value that
gen1.phase = 0 (instead of the 90 degree value)
makes it even more worse!

At first I suspected a problem with the output of channel 2, but I verified the same behaviour on my second RedPitaya board. :(
Another observation: the signal generator of the standard scope app works perfect on both channels.

Whats gone wrong here?

Best regards
Gunther
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Hinkestein
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Problem: corrupted output signal on channel 2 in jupyter

Post by Hinkestein » Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:55 pm

same with examples/generator_widget.ipynb:
channel 1 ok, channel 2 garbage output.
here also the values of the frequency sliders are completely wrong.

Hinkestein
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:54 pm

Re: Problem: corrupted output signal on channel 2 in jupyter

Post by Hinkestein » Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:09 pm

scope-app_2ch-input_from_fg.png
at least you can see this behaviour even in the scope-widget :shock:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

amike88
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: Problem: corrupted output signal on channel 2 in jupyter

Post by amike88 » Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:36 pm

Hi,

i've just tried this example "examples/gen_sync_two_channel.ipynb" and as can be seen in the picture bellow it seems to work for me.

This is just an idea, but have you checked your connector cables?
Otherwise I'd recommend that you download a clean image from RP download server and make a clean SD image with it (I'd recommend etcher), perhaps something went wrong with the upgrade.
20171005_131716-small.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Hinkestein
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2015 9:54 pm

New observations

Post by Hinkestein » Fri Oct 20, 2017 6:44 pm

tried a clean install, same effect. :(

BUT I noticed something interesting:
I connected the input and output channels together, rebooted and started Jupyter.
Then I started the Scope Widget (examples/oscilloscope_widget.ipynb) and the Generator Widget (examples/generator_widget.ipynb)

Now when I turn on output channel 1 I see the expected waveform on input channel 1.
BUT I also see a square wave on output channel 2 !!!!!

Enabling the second output channel then garbles the output again.
(looks like an addition of both signals, the square wave and the sine, with some distortions added)

Does anyone else see this?

Btw: I have a version V1.0 board from the kickstarter campaign.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests