Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
pavel
Posts: 509
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

Post by pavel » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:10 am

how to check USB Wi-Fi adapter Red Pitaya in your OS image?
On a very basic level, I'd expect some LEDs to blink on the USB Wi-Fi adapter when it's recognized by the OS.

Normally, I connect to the Red Pitaya command line interface via wired Ethernet or USB and check it with the ifconfig command.
I can not see IP of Red Pitaya when using your image.
My question isn't about the IP address. It's about the RedPitaya Wi-Fi hotspot.

If the USB Wi-Fi adapter works with the SD card image based on Alpine Linux, then the RedPitaya Wi-Fi hotspot should be listed as one of available Wi-Fi hotspots by the software that you're using for Wi-Fi.

Does the Wi-Fi client on your PC see a Wi-Fi hotspot called RedPitaya?

amin
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:31 pm

Re: Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

Post by amin » Thu Nov 30, 2017 12:28 pm

Pavel,

Finally, I can connect with your sd card image.
I misunderstood about your wifi adapter redpitaya.
My question isn't about the IP address. It's about the RedPitaya Wi-Fi hotspot.
If the USB Wi-Fi adapter works with the SD card image based on Alpine Linux, then the RedPitaya Wi-Fi hotspot should be listed as one of available Wi-Fi hotspots by the software that you're using for Wi-Fi.
Does the Wi-Fi client on your PC see a Wi-Fi hotspot called RedPitaya?
i just realized that wifi adapter of Red Pitaya should be used as Wi-Fi hot spot.
redpitayawifihotsopot.PNG
vnaexe2.PNG
vnaweb.PNG
Thank you for your explanation .
I really appreciate it.

Actually, from this project i want to make lowpass filter and PID application.
i will inform you later after i learn your project.

Thanks and Regards,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

amin
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:31 pm

Re: Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

Post by amin » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:17 pm

Pavel,

I have another problem that i can not change to client mode.
I already do this command in Putty:
wpa_passphrase RedPitaya RedPitaya > /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
./wifi/client.sh
lbu commit -d
SSID and Password are RedPitaya.
puttyerror.PNG
Can you identify why does it occur.


Thanks and Regards,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

pavel
Posts: 509
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

Post by pavel » Thu Nov 30, 2017 3:33 pm

I have another problem that i can not change to client mode.
Can you identify why does it occur.
If you're running these commands when connected to Red Pitaya via Wi-Fi, then you're cutting the branch that you're sitting on. With my configuration, the client and hotspot modes can't run simultaneously. So, if you switch to the client mode, then the connection established in the hotspot mode is lost.

Normally, I connect to Red Pitaya via a wired interface to reconfigure its Wi-Fi interface. It's less stressful this way.

However, if you've entered correct SSID and PASSPHRASE of your Wi-Fi hotspot, then Red Pitaya should've already connected to your Wi-Fi hotspot as a client and can be discovered using the arp command, etc.

amin
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:31 pm

Re: Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

Post by amin » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:31 am

Pavel,
Normally, I connect to Red Pitaya via a wired interface to reconfigure its Wi-Fi interface. It's less stressful this way.
I already do this wired configuration:
    wired Ethernet via a router
    I can not detect IP address 192.168.1.100
      wired Ethernet with a PC directly connected to the RedPitaya RJ45 port
      again, I can not connect to IP address 192.168.1.100

      What is the correct procedure to connect via wired properly using your image?
      I am sorry if i still don't understand about your tutorial, as shown below:
      The wired interface is by default configured to request an IP address via DHCP. If no IP address is provided by a DHCP server, then the wired interface falls back to a static IP address 192.168.1.100.
      I already check my wired interface and direct LAN interface using Red Pitaya OS 0.97-42.
      i can connect using static IP when using direct LAN connection.


      Thanks and regards,

      pavel
      Posts: 509
      Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

      Re: Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

      Post by pavel » Fri Dec 01, 2017 8:03 am

      What is the correct procedure to connect via wired properly using your image?
      Any procedure that works for you with other devices with a wired Ethernet interface should also work with the SD card image based on Alpine Linux.
      I am sorry if i still don't understand about your tutorial, as shown below:
      The wired interface is by default configured to request an IP address via DHCP. If no IP address is provided by a DHCP server, then the wired interface falls back to a static IP address 192.168.1.100.
      As I already wrote in one of my previous posts, it looks like we have a language-related communication problem. You don't understand what I write. I don't understand what you don't understand.

      Since I don't know how to solve this communication problem, I propose to stop this fruitless discussion.

      amin
      Posts: 53
      Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:31 pm

      Re: Wi-Fi configuration with Alpine Linux

      Post by amin » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:02 am

      Pavel,

      Finally, i can connect with Direct Ethernet connection.
      i am sorry not read deeply your guidance.
      The wired interface is by default configured to request an IP address via DHCP. If no IP address is provided by a DHCP server, then the wired interface falls back to a static IP address 192.168.1.100.
      I am sorry not consider about DHCP setting in my properties of LAN Setting.
      LAN setting.PNG
      This is the result of VNA.exe
      I can detect my modulation signal (fc=10khz and fs=10khz)
      VNAmodulation.PNG
      This the result of putty command when i change to client mode:
      Puttyclientmode.PNG


      The next problem is i can not detect your IP address when i use client mode.
      My network configuration is : wifi Red Pitaya - wifi hotspot- wifi PC

      Another question is how to use VNA.m?
      I get an error when i try using one of these network configurations: direct ethernet and direct wifi Red Pitaya hotspot .
      matlabvna.PNG
      I really appreciated your help.

      Thanks and regards,
      You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

      Post Reply
      jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

      Who is online

      Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests