AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Applications, development tools, FPGA, C, WEB
Post Reply
matankeda
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2023 7:05 am

AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by matankeda » Wed Jul 03, 2024 5:59 pm

Hello,

I am using a STEMlab 125-4 (2ch) RP board with the ecosystem-2.00-323-eb19512be.

The AXI does not appear to work. This is the message I get when just trying to run the AXI example in the examples folder...

Code: Select all

root@rp-f0a6c8:~/RedPitaya/Examples/C# ./axi
Reserved memory start 0x14EAC0 size 0x1705BC
rp_AcqAxiSetDecimationFactor failed!
Am I doing something wrong -- in the past AXI has worked great.

Thanks,
MK

matankeda
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2023 7:05 am

Re: AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by matankeda » Tue Jul 09, 2024 11:38 pm

In addition,

I have tried a couple of different OS/ecosystem versions of the 2ch RP board with some of the new software and I cannot get the AXI to work. For the 4ch RP board there are no issues...

User avatar
redpitaya
Site Admin
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by redpitaya » Wed Jul 10, 2024 9:57 am

Hello Matankeda,
Thank you for letting us know.

I will test the DMA/AXI functionality on the latest NB (330) and notify the developers if the problem is reproducible.

User avatar
redpitaya
Site Admin
Posts: 930
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by redpitaya » Wed Jul 10, 2024 10:13 am

The example works fine. Since you are using one of the latest Nightly Builds, please make sure you have Linux 2.05 installed, as this might affect which C functions/libraries you have access to.
https://downloads.redpitaya.com/downloads/LinuxOS/
Try using NB 330 together with 2.05 Linux.

Also the Reserved memory start and size are not normal. By default, the start address is 0x1000000 with size being 0x200000 (size can be modified, but the starting address should be changed).

It might also be the case that you are using an older branch of the GitHub, so try downloading the main branch of the repository, then execute the file again.

matankeda
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2023 7:05 am

Re: AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by matankeda » Wed Jul 10, 2024 5:57 pm

I tried using 2.05 Linux, NB 330, and master GitHub branch and encountered the same issue.

root@rp-f0a6bc:~/RedPitaya/Examples/C# ./axi
Reserved memory start 0x14A000 size 0x16F8B4
rp_AcqAxiSetDecimationFactor failed!

I also looked in the boot .dts file and the start address is correctly set to 0x1000000 with size being 0x200000.

Not exactly sure what is wrong...

33dnp
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 6:00 am

Re: AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by 33dnp » Thu Jul 11, 2024 7:27 am

HI.
It looks like your file system on the memory card is damaged.
We need to record a new image.
Reserved memory start 0x14A000 size 0x16F8B4
These values ​​are not correct for the default values, so the rest does not work.

The function that requests the available range of addresses receives data from here:
/sys/firmware/devicetree/base/reserved-memory/buffer@1000000/reg
There is the starting address and size in uint32 format (not text)

matankeda
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2023 7:05 am

Re: AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by matankeda » Thu Jul 11, 2024 11:06 pm

Intresting...

I was able to get numbers in the reserved memory with 2.00-35 with Branch 2024.2

Code: Select all

Reserved memory start 0x143000 size 0x168844
But still the wrong addresses.

I am not sure it is a problem with the SD card -- I have used different SD cards and they all seem to work on the 4ch RP board, just not he 2ch RP.

Thank you for all the quick responses,
MK

33dnp
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2020 6:00 am

Re: AXI functions not working for new Ecosystems

Post by 33dnp » Fri Jul 12, 2024 3:41 am

2ch and 4ch boards use different base device tree files.
They can work on this.
Looks like a file
/opt/redpitaya/dts/z10_125/devicetree.dtb
damaged.

You can compare it with the file for 4 channel
/opt/redpitaya/dts/z20_125_4ch/devicetree.dtb

They must be the same.


A corrupted file system is a fairly common problem that results in unexpected behavior.
So far we have not been able to understand the reason for this.

In the settings in the main menu there is a checkbox that enables checking the file system after a reboot. But she doesn't really help)))

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests