Generation of a signal from a trigger

Applications, development tools, FPGA, C, WEB
TheGeri

Generation of a signal from a trigger

Post by TheGeri » Thu Sep 14, 2023 1:54 pm

Hello everyone! I am new to working with the Red Pitaya, and I have a question:

I am currently using the Red Pitaya 125-14 with SCPI commands and Python. I have a generator function connected to input 1 of the Red Pitaya, which continuously generates pulses. The idea is that when the Red Pitaya detects a voltage rise above a certain threshold, it activates the digital signal DIO0_P.

When I use the oscilloscope, I can see that the digital signal activates every time I run the program. However, the issue is that the signal activation occurs at a different time compared to the rising signal for each run of the programme I do.

I have attached the code:

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/env python3

import sys
import time
import redpitaya_scpi as scpi

#Setup the connection to the Red Pitaya
rp_s = scpi.scpi(sys.argv[1])

# RST on GEN and DIG
rp_s.tx_txt('DIG:RST')
rp_s.tx_txt('ACQ:RST')

# DIO0_P as output
rp_s.tx_txt('DIG:PIN:DIR OUT,DIO0_P')

# Acquisition
rp_s.tx_txt('ACQ:TRIG:LEV 0.5')
rp_s.tx_txt('ACQ:TRIG:DLY 0')
rp_s.tx_txt('ACQ:DEC 1')

rp_s.tx_txt('ACQ:START')
time.sleep(0.1)
rp_s.tx_txt('ACQ:TRIG CH1_PE')
rp_s.tx_txt('DIG:PIN DIO0_P,1')

# Wait for trigger
while 1:
    rp_s.tx_txt('ACQ:TRIG:STAT?')           # Get Trigger Status
    if rp_s.rx_txt() == 'TD':  
      break

I would appreciate it if someone could review it and offer any possible solutions to the issue. Thank you all in advance :)

redpitaya
Site Admin

Re: Generation of a signal from a trigger

Post by redpitaya » Fri Sep 22, 2023 11:47 am

Hello TheGeri,

Thank you for writing to us. I apologise for the late reply.

The easy way to do it would be to change the DIO0_P to 1 after the acquisition trigger has been achieved.