decimation factor

Applications, development tools, FPGA, C, WEB
Post Reply
Ronny Comyn
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 9:08 am

decimation factor

Post by Ronny Comyn » Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:11 pm

Hello,

could someone explain me the decimation factor please?
What is it doing exactly?
Can I use it to sample at slower sample rates?

Kind regards,
Ronny

noah
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:53 am
Location: Zurich

Re: decimation factor

Post by noah » Fri Jun 12, 2015 4:39 pm

It's exactly what you wrote!

It devides the base sample clock (125MSps) by a factor thats a binary number (2 to the power of n). This allows a lower samplerate.

Additionally you can enable averaging which basically takes the average of the 'lost' samples if you are running a lower samplerate.

Does that answer your question?

Ronny Comyn
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 9:08 am

Re: decimation factor

Post by Ronny Comyn » Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:38 pm

Thanks a lot Noah!
So if I need a sample rate of about 2 Mhz , I just need to choose a decimation of 64 , correct?
How do I activate averaging in command line please?
Thanks,
Ronny

noah
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:53 am
Location: Zurich

Re: decimation factor

Post by noah » Mon Jun 15, 2015 9:21 am

Yes thats right.

Unfortunately the acquire tool doesn't support the averaging feature (to my knowledge). But you can turn it on by writing to the FPGA register like so:

Code: Select all

monitor 0x40100028 1
and to disable it

Code: Select all

monitor 0x40100028 0

Ronny Comyn
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 9:08 am

Re: decimation factor

Post by Ronny Comyn » Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:10 am

Thanks Noah!

The 'monitor' command, is just a command I enter in the secure shell terminal, before
entering the acquire command?
Is there also a command to trigger on a digital line (falling edge, digital line 0)?

Thanks in advance!
Ronny

noah
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 9:53 am
Location: Zurich

Re: decimation factor

Post by noah » Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:23 am

Ronny Comyn wrote:The 'monitor' command, is just a command I enter in the secure shell terminal, before entering the acquire command?
Correct.
Ronny Comyn wrote:Is there also a command to trigger on a digital line (falling edge, digital line 0)?
Indeed there is! Take a look at the Red Pitaya FPGA memory map. The register 0x40100004 defines the trigger source. So if you write to it the value 6 the trigger source will be
external trigger positive edge - DIO0_P pin
The command would be

Code: Select all

monitor 0x40100004 6
I hope that works.

Cheers, Noah

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 99 guests