Which OS for SDR

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
Xerox
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:41 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by Xerox » Wed Dec 08, 2021 2:04 pm

Already read or badly read.....

If no DHCP offer it falls back on static ip address set into dhcpd.conf

But how to stop RP to act as dhcp client, thus surely use a satic ip ?

Unfortunately each linux distro has its own or tens of new different methods to manage network interfaces.... :x

pavel
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by pavel » Wed Dec 08, 2021 5:03 pm

What's the method (on your version) to switch to eth0 static ip address ?
I think configuring eth0 similarly to lo and wlan0 should do the trick. Maybe adding gateway and DNS addresses would also be needed:

Code: Select all

interface eth0
static ip_address=192.168.1.100/24
static routers=192.168.1.1
static domain_name_servers=192.168.1.1
Some more examples can be found in the dhcpcd.conf documentation:

https://www.mankier.com/5/dhcpcd.conf

However, I think a better approach would be to configure the fixed IP address of the Red Pitaya board on the DHCP server or router in your local network.

Xerox
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:41 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by Xerox » Wed Dec 08, 2021 6:38 pm

dhcpcd.conf has no direct eth0 configuration, rather a fallback to profile in case dhcp lease fails:


# Fallback to static profile on eth0.
interface eth0
fallback static_eth0

# Define static profile for eth0.
profile static_eth0
static ip_address=192.168.1.100/24
static routers=192.168.1.1
static domain_name_servers=192.168.1.1

so I think this modifications should work :

# Fallback to static profile on eth0.
#interface eth0 #######commented out
#fallback static_eth0 #######commented out

# Define eth0.
interface eth0
static ip_address=192.168.1.100/24
static routers=192.168.1.1
static domain_name_servers=192.168.1.1


the problem is once rebooted, any modification is lost (included root passwd) like a new os is unpacked from sdcard

Should I perhaps modify the /etc/dhcpcd.conf into sdcard red-pitaya.apkovl.tar.gz ??
However, I think a better approach would be to configure the fixed IP address of the Red Pitaya board on the DHCP server or router in your local network.
Yes, for now I'm using a dhcp reservation on my router....

pavel
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by pavel » Wed Dec 08, 2021 7:34 pm

the problem is once rebooted, any modification is lost (included root passwd) like a new os is unpacked from sdcard
Here is the command that saves the configuration changes to SD card:

Code: Select all

lbu commit -d

Xerox
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:41 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by Xerox » Fri Dec 10, 2021 12:47 pm

One more thing learned today….
Thank you

Xerox
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:41 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by Xerox » Sat Dec 11, 2021 5:42 pm

How can I enable/assign RX2 to second input of RP ?

If I enable RX2 on PowerSDR, I receive the same signal on both RX despite input2 is disconnected....

Xerox
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:41 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by Xerox » Sun Dec 12, 2021 4:50 pm

I think I have to modify start.sh isn't it ?

In particular from what I understood :

ip link add mvl0 link eth0 address $address type macvlan mode passthru

$apps_dir/sdr_receiver_hpsdr_122_88/sdr-receiver-hpsdr eth0 1 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 &
$apps_dir/sdr_receiver_hpsdr_122_88/sdr-receiver-hpsdr mvl0 1 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 &

What's the real function of those 8 bits ?
And what is mvl0 ? (P.S: edit: ah MACVLAN.....something else to learn to.... :roll: )

Thank you for your patience.

pavel
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by pavel » Mon Dec 13, 2021 12:16 am

Yes, the inputs can be selected by modifying start.sh.

The eight digits are input selectors for eight receivers. 1 corresponds to IN1 and 2 corresponds to IN2.

Alternatively, it could be easier to use the SDR transceiver compatible with HPSDR where the first two receivers are by default connected to two different inputs.

Xerox
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2021 5:41 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by Xerox » Sun Dec 19, 2021 5:41 pm

pavel wrote:
Mon Dec 13, 2021 12:16 am


The eight digits are input selectors for eight receivers. 1 corresponds to IN1 and 2 corresponds to IN2.
From what I have understood your OS version offers eigth different receivers but actually Powersdr mRX PS is able to manage just two of them, isn't it ?

pavel
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Which OS for SDR

Post by pavel » Sun Dec 19, 2021 7:47 pm

The receivers are not part of OS. They are part of some of the multiple applications.

I provide two applications compatible with the HPSDR protocol:
  • SDR receiver compatible with HPSDR: it has 16 receivers and it is designed for use with CW Skimmer Server and Reverse Beacon Network Aggregator
  • SDR transceiver compatible with HPSDR: it has 5 receivers and it is designed for use with PowerSDR mRX PS and Thetis.
If your goal is to use PowerSDR mRX PS or Thetis, then the correct application is SDR transceiver compatible with HPSDR.

In SDR transceiver compatible with HPSDR, 2 receivers are directly controlled by the radio operator and 3 are used for diversity reception and amplifier linearization.

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests