Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
Post Reply
kkeeton6912
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:23 pm

Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Post by kkeeton6912 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 2:31 am

I have OS 96-86 and

lsusb
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 7392:7811 Edimax Technology Co., Ltd EW-7811Un 802.11n Wireless Adapter [Realtek RTL8188CUS]

but not working.. there is a ton of issues on this topic but a lot are old.. is this still not plug and play?
Last edited by kkeeton6912 on Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Nils Roos
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Königswinter

Re: wireless not working

Post by Nils Roos » Thu Jan 19, 2017 7:42 pm

You still have to either a) wire it up and use the Bazaar's "Network Manager" to configure wifi, or b) edit the configuration files in a usb-shell.

How do you propose to make choosing the right wifi network and entering the passphrase "plug-and-play", anyway?
All in a day's work for Bicycle Repair Man

kkeeton6912
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:23 pm

Re: wireless not working

Post by kkeeton6912 » Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:01 pm

sorry guess I could be more clear.. the network manager says no wireless cards and wont do anything.

kkeeton6912
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:23 pm

Re: Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Post by kkeeton6912 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:20 am

should I just hack it working or is this a bug?

dtorette4868
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:23 pm

Re: Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Post by dtorette4868 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 7:52 pm

I confirm the problem in setting up a WIFI connection with the USB dongle provided in kits.

dtorette4868
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:23 pm

Re: Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Post by dtorette4868 » Sat Jan 28, 2017 4:12 pm

Now it works for me.on some recent build.

kkeeton6912
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:23 pm

Re: Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Post by kkeeton6912 » Tue Jan 31, 2017 6:43 am

how recent I have .96.86 and not working...
update manager shows .97 but wont let me select it or update to it.

new image card - the wifi wont work

any suggestions or anything here... didnt buy the wifi dongle to just sit on it.

pavel
Posts: 516
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Post by pavel » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:15 am

any suggestions or anything here... didnt buy the wifi dongle to just sit on it.
I'd suggest to try my Debian based SD card image from this link. It has more WiFi drivers than the image provided by Red Pitaya. By default, WiFi works in the access point mode with SSID and password RedPitaya. To switch to the client mode it's enough to replace the content of /etc/network/interfaces.d/wlan0 with the following lines:

Code: Select all

allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
  wpa-ssid MYSSID
  wpa-psk MYPSKHASH
  wpa-group CCMP
MYSSID is the SSID of your WiFi network.

MYPSKHASH can be obtained by running the following command from the Red Pitaya command line:

Code: Select all

wpa_passphrase MYSSID
Commands to restart wlan0 are:

Code: Select all

ifdown wlan0
ifup wlan0 

kkeeton6912
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2016 3:23 pm

Re: Bazaar's "Network Manager" not working

Post by kkeeton6912 » Sat Feb 04, 2017 11:27 pm

pavl I may do that .. I am frustrated with the lack of support or functionality with the shipped OS.

I see that you have
Red Pitaya web server
Red Pitaya contributed apps

this means that the same functionality of the original (basically the market place apps) will work with your image?
I want access to the LCR and Generator is really my biggest reasons for still using the OEM

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests