Page 1 of 1

Can't get list of applications.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 1:47 am
by rtshort
I just got my RP. Took a few tries to get it to work, but then I got the front page with the list of applications.

Played with the scope/siggen for a bit and signals up to a few MHz worked very well. I shut down (using sudo halt), and restarted later. When I try to connect to the RP again the "Getting the list of applications" screen comes up with the little twirlies and never gives me the list of applications. I can get it to work again by flashing a new OS, but then after playing around a bit the same thing happens.

I can ssh into the RP, I can ping it, I can ping from the RP to my local network or the Internet, but my applications never come back.

Any hints?

Bob

Re: Can't get list of applications.

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:45 pm
by Nils Roos
I never had that, and I can't reproduce it. What OS release are you currently using?

Re: Can't get list of applications.

Posted: Thu Feb 16, 2017 1:51 am
by rtshort
Thank you for replying!

I am running 0.96-20. I have two SD cards, the one that came with the system that enabled my two purchased instruments and upgraded using the browser to whatever the latest OS is, and a second to which I flashed a recently downloaded image. Both do the same thing.

This is pretty strange. I feel, without good reason, that it is some kind of networking issue. I am using google-chrome on a debian linux system (testing), but see the same thing from Windows 10 using Chrome and from linux using firefox. I was never able to connect using the instructions so I just use the IP address (192.168.1.xx). As I said, I can ssh in, ping all over the place so it isn't a connectivity thing. I do have two access points in my network, but the second one *shouldn't* be interacting with this. I use DHCP from the primary access point to set the IP address. Some more details

If I reflash the OS, I can proceed with running applications. But when I use the back arrow in the application OR the browser's back button the fool thing hangs. I can connect directly to the application using the URL for the application itself (e.g. http://192.168.1.xx/scopegenpro/?type=run) and everything is fine.

I am sure I am some kind of corner case. I am reasonably linux literate, so if there are things I can do to help figure this out so nobody else gets bit I am happy to do so. In the mean time I figured out how to use my RP so all is well, if a little inconvenient.

Bob

Re: Can't get list of applications.

Posted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 12:38 pm
by tfoldes
Hello,
I am getting the exact same behavior on OS 0.96-86. (I can connect directly to the application using the URL for the application itself, but otherwise the RP is hanging "Getting the list of applications").
I am on Win10, getting the same behavior via Access Point mode or Direct Ethernet cable connection. In Access Point mode I am able to access the internet on the PC through the RP (static IP LAN). However if I go into //192.168.128.1/updater/ I get a "Your RedPitaya currently offline..." message.

Kind regards,
Tomas

Update: updated to 0.97, everything working correctly...

Re: Can't get list of applications.

Posted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:21 am
by LERMACHINE
I just received my Red Pitaya and first things first, apps appeared. The update also appeared and I installed. Then I get the circling lines of death.... Anyone know how to fix this?

UPDATE:
I noticed the version.txt file that was preinstalled on my SD card says OS version 97. The update I installed was the 96.86.

Could this be an issue?

Re: Can't get list of applications.

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:22 pm
by mnordgard
I have the same problem. Everything was working correctly, I updated the Os, unlocked the apps and since the RP has been stuck getting the list of applications every time I try.
I have no idea what to do about this.
Has anybody had any luck?

Re: Can't get list of applications.

Posted: Thu Mar 16, 2017 7:57 pm
by redpitaya
Hi,
please try to clear browser cache, this should solve the problem.
kind regards, Red Pitaya team