Network setup

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
Post Reply
airizar
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:25 pm

Network setup

Post by airizar » Mon Jul 28, 2014 4:57 pm

I've managed to use redpitaya connected directly to the ethernet connector of my PC but I would like to have it connected to my LAN network using a static configuration.

I follow the instructions of the manual (change the /opt/etc/network/interfaces file, etc)
I got this error when booting the Zynq

++ Bringing up eth0
ip: either "local" is duplicate, or "/24" is garbage
ip: RTNETLINK answers: Network is unreachable

The output of ifconfig is
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:26:32:F0:03:FB
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:85 errors:0 dropped:28 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:8957 (8.7 KiB) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:54 Base address:0xb000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

Any idea?

Regards

Andoni

hmaarrfk
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: Network setup

Post by hmaarrfk » Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:10 am

Can you post your configuration file?

airizar
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:25 pm

Re: Network setup

Post by airizar » Wed Jul 30, 2014 11:14 am

Yes, here it is

the XXX.YYY.ZZZ in the IP addresses is to not to disclose my address domain

Regards

Andoni

# Red Pitaya wired network (1000Base-T) configuration
# Choose one of the following:
# dhcp - Use DHCP + Zeroconf/avahi fallback.
# static - Use Static IP, NETMASK & GATEWAY as specified below.

NETWORK=static

# Static network configuration parameters (active if NETWORK=static)
IP=XXX.YYY.ZZZ.188
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=XXX.YYY.ZZZ.1

hmaarrfk
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: Network setup

Post by hmaarrfk » Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:02 pm

Sorry could you please post the fill file. You can change your IP address to XXXXXXX but there are some other lines in the file that are of importance. I just don't want to claim that it is a bigger problem before ruling out the easy solution.

Also when you post things, can you enclose them in [ code ] [ /code ](without the space) blocks. It makes it easier to read.

hmaarrfk
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: Network setup

Post by hmaarrfk » Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:07 pm

hahaha, ok, I see your mistake.

The file you want to edit it:

Code: Select all

OS/filesystem/etc/network/interfaces
and not

Code: Select all

 OS/filesystem/etc/network/config 
For reference, I have never modified the config file and have my static IP setup correctly.

You can also modify it on the SD directly.

ediit:
So that network/config file is actually ignored by the final linux OS. You can see that because the files that are added to the OS can be found in OS/buildroot/overlay and there is no mention of netowk/config in there. By contrast, netowrk/interfaces links to /opt/etc/network/interfaces which is where your SD card gets mounted.

airizar
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:25 pm

Re: Network setup

Post by airizar » Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:22 pm

The file that I did modify was "interfaces" but I thought you were referring to "config"

Code: Select all

# $Id: interfaces 955 2014-01-16 13:15:20Z ales.bardorfer $
#
# Red Pitaya network configuration
#


###########################
# lo: Loopback interface  #
###########################

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback


######################################
# eth0: Wired Ethernet - 1000Base-T  #
######################################
#
# Uncomment only one: dynamic or static configuration.
#

# Dynamic (DHCP) IP address
# iface eth0 inet dhcp
#   udhcpc_opts -t7 -T3

# Static IP address
# Don't forget to set the static DNS IP in sd:/etc/init.d/rcS too.

iface eth0 inet static
    address XXX.YYY.ZZZ.188 
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway XXX.YYY.ZZZ.1 


################################
# wlan0: Wireless USB adapter  #
################################

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
    pre-up wpa_supplicant -B -D wext -i wlan0 -c /opt/etc/network/wpa_supplicant.conf
    post-down killall -q wpa_supplicant
    udhcpc_opts -t7 -T3


hmaarrfk
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: Network setup

Post by hmaarrfk » Wed Jul 30, 2014 4:41 pm

Your config looks good. I just wanted to make sure of that sneaky line above "address XXX.YYY...".

That is all I modified. I didn't even bother changing the rc.S because I wasn't expecting my RedPitaya to connect out.

Unless somebody else has a smart answer, I would just tripple check that:

1. The /etc/network/interfaces file is actually updated in the SD card itself
2. Your network is plugged in before you turn on the RedPitaya.

You can also try a different cable :S

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest