HPSDR Error with alpine 3.12

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
Post Reply
GregMew
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 10:40 am

HPSDR Error with alpine 3.12

Post by GregMew » Wed Aug 19, 2020 12:56 pm

Hi
I have a Surface Pro4 running W10 with an external adaptor (Simplecom) connected to the USB3 port on the Surface Pro.

I have Pavel's Alpine Code installed on the Red Pitaya: red-pitaya-alpine-3.12-armv7-20200628

I can access the red pitaya using the RP-XXXXXX.local/ command and can select programs using the Web interface. Note sometimes I have to ping the IP address (RP-XXXXXX.local) a couple of times before it kicks in. This applies to both the Surface Pro and also the Desk top that I have tried it on. More on the desktop operation later.

I can select LED Blinker for example and it flashes. I can then select SDR transceiver compatible with HPSDR and the LED Blinker stops blinking. For the SDR transceiver I have the green and the blue LEDs on permanently no other LEDs are on or flashing.


When I go to Power SDR Open HPSDR mRX PS v3.4.9 (3/19/18) I get the following message: HPSDR Error Error starting HPSDR hardware, is it connected and powered? Clicking OK to that message gives me PortAudio Error: -9988 Invalid stream pointer.

Under Setup>General>Hardware Config if have the following selected:
Radio Model : Hermes
Connection type : Hermes
I have tied : Reuse Last IP Address and Use Static IP Address

I have tried using the following IP addresses:
10.0.0.113
10.0.0.114
10.0.0.140
169.254.197.120
all by selecting them using the "Select IP" button when "Use Static Address has been checked.

Note I have not made any modifications to the Alpine code referred to above.

Note I have had it working on another Desktop PC with an external switch so I know that the code in the Red Pitaya is OK.

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what may be the problem.

Kind Regards

Greg
VK4GRM

pavel
Posts: 616
Joined: Sat May 23, 2015 5:22 pm

Re: HPSDR Error with alpine 3.12

Post by pavel » Wed Aug 19, 2020 1:08 pm

It's possible that PowerSDR mRX PS running on Surface Pro4 tries to connect to Red Pitaya via Wi-Fi. Could you try to disable Wi-Fi on Surface Pro4?

GregMew
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 10:40 am

Re: HPSDR Error with alpine 3.12

Post by GregMew » Thu Aug 20, 2020 1:29 pm

Hi Pavel

Thanks for your reply.

I have manually shut down WIFI and it has not made any difference. I can still select LED Blinker and SDR Transceiver compatible with HPSDR with out any problems.

The Ethernet 3 in the IPCONFIG listing below is the USB3 to Ethernet adaptor that is plugged in.

I have tried in PowerSDR>Setup>Hardware Config>Connection Type to use the following IP addresses:

169.254.197.123
10.0.0.113

with "Use Static IP" selected with no success. These seemed to be the only relevant IP addresses.

In the Hermes Address area I can see the IP address but no MAC address as usually comes up when it is connected correctly. I have attached an image of this.

Doing an IPCONFIG I get the following:

C:\Users\gmew5>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Ethernet 3:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::8418:23c8:f986:c57c%17
Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.197.124
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 2:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 4:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

Ethernet adapter Ethernet 2:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:8003:7dbb:8c00:7dbb:b796:f4ac:603a
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2001:8003:7dbb:8c00:193f:c56b:18ca:6a78
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7dbb:b796:f4ac:603a%4
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.94
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::faab:5ff:fe81:2de4%4
10.0.0.138

Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway

Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :



Am I missing something here??

Kind Regards

Greg
VK4GRM

GregMew
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 10:40 am

Re: HPSDR Error with alpine 3.12

Post by GregMew » Thu Aug 20, 2020 1:54 pm

Hi Pavel

An update to my last email this time from my Desktop rather than the Surface Pro.

I have powered up the Red Pitaya on the Desktop PC and been able to select LED Blinker and SDR Transceiver Compatible with HPSDR.

I then ran PowerSDR and it worked without problems.

I have tried to attached the Setup conditions as a jpg but I am not sure if I am doing it correctly? :( I cant see it on the other reply I gave?

IPCONFIG in this case is below.
Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.18362.1016]
(c) 2019 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Greg>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Ethernet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : gateway
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:8003:7dbb:8c00:5dc1:b34c:2f3d:5c6d
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2001:8003:7dbb:8c00:8495:ff66:753b:a9d6
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5dc1:b34c:2f3d:5c6d%9
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 10.0.0.40
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::faab:5ff:fe81:2de4%9
10.0.0.138

Thanks again for any help you can give.

Kind Regards

Greg
VK4GRM

GregMew
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 10:40 am

Re: HPSDR Error with alpine 3.12

Post by GregMew » Wed Aug 26, 2020 12:27 pm

Hi all

Just to close out this thread.

I have got it working. The problem was the USB to Ethernet adaptor which did not appear to be setting the IP address. I reconfigured the adaptor to have a fixed IP address adjacent to the default address (192.168.1.100) that Pavel has specified in his note "Alpine with pre-built applications".

I can now log into the RP using 192.168.1.100 as the IP address or also the rp-xxxxxx.local/ command using Chrome. I may eventually change over to the preloaded application on startup to avoid this step but for the moment it is handy to check that all is working by selecting LED Blinker.

Thanks Pavel for your suggestion.

Regards
Greg
VK4GRM

User avatar
redpitaya
Site Admin
Posts: 387
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:04 pm

Re: HPSDR Error with alpine 3.12

Post by redpitaya » Wed Sep 09, 2020 12:00 pm

https://redpitaya.readthedocs.io/en/lat ... connection

Did you try to connect on the console port and check what IP pop's up in putty?

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest