How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
rajat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:35 pm

How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by rajat » Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:46 pm

Hi ,

I have build bin file for fpga using impact32 and try to load it as follows :

cat new_fpga.bin > /dev/xdevcfg

But after that led 1 which is for fpga ready didn't started blinking.

Please help me in running the bin file or let me know for to build new boot.bin for the board on windows.

Nils Roos
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Königswinter

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by Nils Roos » Fri Jan 09, 2015 3:25 am

Hi,
Did you build the original RedPitaya verilog code, or have you made a new design ? I am asking this because the blinking led 1 is driven by the fpga, and if your design does not have the blink code, no blinking will occur.
rajat wrote:I have build bin file for fpga using impact32
I have not used the impact tools, so I can't say what might go wrong.

I prepare bin files with the promgen utility, which is part of the Xilinx LabTools. Those are also available for Windows.

rajat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by rajat » Fri Jan 09, 2015 6:45 am

Please let me know how to install promgen tool. I have installed Lab tool 14.3 which has impact 32/64 amd the chipscope

rajat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by rajat » Fri Jan 09, 2015 6:50 am

Hi have tried to build bit file of existing fpga code for red pitaya using vivado 2013 and then bin file using impact. Then tried to load it using following command cat redpitaya_top.bin > /dev/cdevcfg

Nils Roos
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Königswinter

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by Nils Roos » Fri Jan 09, 2015 4:09 pm

If you have LabTools already installed, you should have the promgen utility already. To use it, execute the LabTool settings script (change install location, version number and 32/64 bit as appropriate)
linux:

Code: Select all

source /opt/Xilinx/14.7/LabTools/settings64.sh
windows:

Code: Select all

C:\Xilinx\14.7\LabTools\settings64.bat
Then you should be able to call promgen like this:

Code: Select all

promgen -w -b -p bin -o red_pitaya.bin -u 0 red_pitaya_top.bit -data_width 32

rajat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by rajat » Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:28 pm

Hi,

Thanks for help. Now I am able to build the bin file and load it.

I am facing new issue after loading.
After loading the image using cat led.bin > /dev/xdevcfg
The desired led it blinking but the command promt of linux is not coming.

Please let me know what else I have to add to the fpga code to get the linux promt

Thanks,
Rajat

Nils Roos
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Königswinter

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by Nils Roos » Mon Jan 12, 2015 2:53 pm

Hi Rajat,
rajat wrote:Please let me know what else I have to add to the fpga code to get the linux promt
I'm guessing that you did not configure the on-chip peripherals and thus lost the usb and ethernet controllers when you loaded your new bitstream.

I would suggest the following:
Start from the full Red Pitaya code and delete what you don't need. Keep at least the following files:
  • fpga/vivado/red_pitaya.srcs/constrs_1/red_pitaya_top.xdc (settings for ADC clock and DNA module)
  • fpga/code/red_pitaya.xdc (IO pin assignments and more hardware settings)
  • fpga/code/rtl/red_pitaya_top.v (top level connections between modules)
  • fpga/code/rtl/red_pitaya_ps.v (interface with the PS)
  • fpga/code/rtl/red_pitaya_analog.v (infrastructure to work with ADC/DAC)
  • fpga/code/rtl/red_pitaya_hk.v (DNA module)
  • fpga/code/rtl/axi_slave.v (AXI_GP connection to PS)
  • fpga/vivado/red_pitaya.srcs/sources_1/* (PS and on-chip peripheral configuration)
Then remove from red_pitaya_top.v all references to modules you don't need and disconnect the led drivers in red_pitaya_hk.v

From there, build in your own design.

Nils Roos
Posts: 1441
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Königswinter

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by Nils Roos » Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:15 pm

I have prepared a "reduced" FPGA project that has all connections to the hardware but no application blocks except housekeeping (see attachment).

This will be the basis for a Red Pitaya FPGA tutorial, but should also be a good starting point for your efforts.
red_pitaya.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rajat
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2015 2:35 pm

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by rajat » Fri Jan 16, 2015 9:37 am

Thanks a lot

chris.peacock
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:14 pm

Re: How to run new bin file on red pitaya

Post by chris.peacock » Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:56 pm

Nils Roos wrote:I have prepared a "reduced" FPGA project that has all connections to the hardware but no application blocks except housekeeping (see attachment).

This will be the basis for a Red Pitaya FPGA tutorial, but should also be a good starting point for your efforts.
red_pitaya.zip
Please can you tell me where to find the zip file?

Thanks

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests