mount network

Just about everything about Red Pitaya
Post Reply
kuengla
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:46 pm

mount network

Post by kuengla » Tue Jul 01, 2014 2:43 pm

Hi

How can i mount a Network on my Computer to send later measurements data on it?
I only can mount an USB Devive on my Pitaya.

this from the wiki doesnt work...
redpitaya> mount -o nolock <ip_address>:/<path> /mnt

edgo
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:38 pm

Re: mount network

Post by edgo » Tue Jul 01, 2014 4:23 pm

Here is how I did it ...

Red Pitaya is 0.111
Host Server is 0.112

First setup Host Server like so:

https://www.digitalocean.com/community/ ... untu-14-04

1)
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install nfs-kernel-server

2)
Create the Share Directory on the Host Server

sudo mkdir /var/nfs

sudo chown nobody:nogroup /var/nfs

3)
Configure the NFS Exports on the Host Server

sudo vi /etc/exports

added:

/var/nfs 192.168.0.111(rw,sync,no_subtree_check)

4)
Now create the NFS table that holds the exports of your shares:

sudo exportfs -a

5)
Start the NFS service:

sudo service nfs-kernel-server start

6)
Now on the Red Pitaya:

mount -o nolock 192.168.0.112:/var/nfs /mnt

acquire 1024 8 > /mnt/my_remote_file

The above command works, and writes the data across the network to Host Server.

kuengla
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2014 12:46 pm

Re: mount network

Post by kuengla » Wed Jul 02, 2014 6:37 am

Hey thx
But I use Putty as Console APP.

Which Console APP do you use?

I cant use "sudo" in Putty...

edgo
Posts: 34
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2014 11:38 pm

Re: mount network

Post by edgo » Wed Jul 02, 2014 4:46 pm

Yes, Putty can be used ... but even before using the console, from the wiki:

It is recommended to use an NFS share to store any temporary data (e.g. the measured signals using the acquire utility). Use a standard mount command to mount your NFS share (example):

redpitaya> mount -o nolock <ip_address>:/<path> /mnt

Q: Have you setup your NFS share? The instructions I posted are for setup of NFS share on Ubuntu 14.04, and then using the mount cmd

If you don't setup an NFS share, then you won't be able to run "mount" from Putty, or any other console

nwerth
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:41 am

Re: mount network

Post by nwerth » Fri Feb 26, 2016 4:25 am

I wanted to share a bit of information on mounting an NFS share with the latest OS images.

I was getting an error when trying to mount an NFS share. The OS image on the SD card was missing the needed mount.nfs executable. I simply had to install the nfs-common package on the RP as follows:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install nfs-common

Then I was able to mount the NFS share:

mount -o nolock nas:/my_nfs_share /mnt

I hope this saves some head scratching for someone else.

Post Reply
jadalnie klasyczne ekskluzywne meble wypoczynkowe do salonu ekskluzywne meble tapicerowane ekskluzywne meble do sypialni ekskluzywne meble włoskie

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 109 guests