3-input SDR with STEMlab 125-14 4-input?

Placement, modules, components and accessories; the ones that exist and the the nice-to-be's
joansola

3-input SDR with STEMlab 125-14 4-input?

Post by joansola » Tue Jan 09, 2024 6:47 pm

Hello. I am new to redpitaya and a relative newby in SDR. I hope my question makes sense and that this is the right place to ask it.

I need to make a SDR application with 3 coherent channels for measuring 3D magnetic field at around 500kHz. I wonder if the STEMlab 125-14 4-input is good for me. My doubt relates the RF frontend. I would need automatic gain control for all inputs to handle the input level veriability. These AGCs should work in unison and report their gain downstream so that I can recover the original signal amplitudes for all channels. I assume the SDRlab has all these features (correct?), but it only has 2 channels, so not good for me. My question is: is the RF frontend of the 4-input STEMlab equivalent in this regard to the RF frontend of the SDRlab? Or should I consider other options for my application?

From the schematics of both systems I can see there are some differences, but I cannot conclude on a precise answer for my question.

Thanks!

redpitaya
Site Admin

Re: 3-input SDR with STEMlab 125-14 4-input?

Post by redpitaya » Wed Feb 07, 2024 1:11 pm

Hello Joansola,

Thank you for writing on the forum. Sorry for the delay.

The analog frontend of the SDRlab 122-16 and STEMlab 125-14 are different:
- SDRlab has AC coupling, no anti-aliasing filter, and 50 Ohm input impedance.
- STEMlab 125-14 4-Input has DC coupling, aprox. 60 MHz anti-aliasing filter, and 1 Mohm input impedance.