RedPitaya Open project Vivado - FPGA programming

Placement, modules, components and accessories; the ones that exist and the the nice-to-be's
AeN

RedPitaya Open project Vivado - FPGA programming

Post by AeN » Mon Oct 26, 2015 1:54 pm

Hello ,

I am a new RP programmer ,
I have a good knowledge of linux and I did basic app on the software part
but i have to understande the FPGA part (the hard )
So i had installed [Vivado + SDK] on Windows but in

1) What sources I have to download ?
2) How can I open the Verilog project on vivadeo ?

Thank for your help :)

Nils Roos

Re: RedPitaya Open project Vivado - FPGA programming

Post by Nils Roos » Tue Oct 27, 2015 11:36 pm

Hi,

I recommend you either fork / clone the RedPitaya github repository or download the contents as a zip archive. Within that, the folder "fpga" has all code that is used to build the fpga logic.
But ... with the 0.94 ecosystem release, a proper project file for the Vivado GUI is no longer included. This means you'll have to do some preparations to work with the project in Vivado. Nothing too complicated though, just do the following:
  1. edit the file fpga/red_pitaya_vivado_project.tcl and change the line

Code: Select all

read_verilog .srcs/sources_1/bd/system/hdl/system_wrapper.v
    into

Code: Select all

read_verilog project/redpitaya.srcs/sources_1/bd/system/hdl/system_wrapper.v
  2. start Vivado, at the bottom of the main screen you have the "Tcl Console"
  3. use the tcl console to navigate into the fpga-folder with the command "cd" (on my machine it would be "cd /Users/Nils/Documents/RedPitaya/fpga")
  4. execute "source red_pitaya_vivado_project.tcl" in the tcl console and watch while Vivado magically builds the project :o
After all this has finished, you have a new folder "project" in the fpga-folder which contains the projectfile and all sources.

AeN

Post by AeN » Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:09 pm

Hollllaaaa it's work !!! thank you very much Nils Roos !!!!